Picture from the Annual Meeting/Party

If you were unable to join the festivities on December 5, 2018, we are forwarding some photographs that will show you what you missed. There were over 100 people in attendance on a cold evening and for those who did attend, we hope you enjoyed our 77th along with the promise that we will continue to work with everyone to make our 78th year a successful one for our community. This year, we presented Community Service Awards to Ruth Rootenberg and posthumously to Ron Danner for never saying “no” when asked to do something for our community. We were honored to have Assemblyman Steven Cymbrowitz install our Officers and Board members for the coming year and to join with us in some special presentations. The MBCG has had a long standing grant from Assemblyman Cymbrowitz that was recently re-purposed by the Assemblyman into a beautification/planting project for the MBCG. That said, you will see a photograph of the Assemblyman along with MBCG Treasurer, Boris Mantell and other members of the MBCG Green Committee presenting a $2,000 check to PS 195 Principal Bernadette Toomey for the school’s “Green Initiative”….a project that we are involved with along with the students. Another photograph shows Michael Biondolillo, Vice President of the PS 195 student body, speaking to our members about his “dream” of obtaining much needed physical education equipment. We knew of his wish and so in another photo you will also see MBCG Treasurer, Boris Mantell presenting Michael with a check in order to supply some of that equipment. What you don’t know, if you were not at the meeting, is that Assemblyman Cymbrowitz “matched” our gift and a member of the audience handed Michael some cash for his “dream”! Needless to say, Michael was surprised and overjoyed! (If you would like to contribute to either the PS 195 “Green Initiative” or to Michael’s “Dream”, feel free to let us know and we will make sure the school gets your donation.) You will also see a photo of the food and dessert tables set up in the cafeteria…with special thanks to event Chair Marilyn Chernin and her staff of volunteers: Nina Chin, Rima DuBowski, Eileen Eisenberg, Michael Fallo, Flori Kostoff, Boris Mantell, Ruth Rootenberg, Gerry Sachs, Rena Samin, Newt Tanner who, once again, made our 77th a grand event. Last but by no means least, you may see, in one photo, former Councilman Michael Nelson who was in attendance along with Councilman Chaim Deutsch, visiting with all of those attending the meeting and State Senator-elect Andrew Gounardes who also spoke with those assembled. Our next meeting will be on Wednesday, February 13th…PS 195…7:30 PM…If you have concerns or problems that we can address…we encourage you to bring them up at our meetings or to write/call (718-200-1845) us directly.